Saint Seya Arch of the Sanctuary

Saint Seiya: the Knights of the Zodiac by Masami Kurumada

Saint Seiya, also known as The Knights of the Zodiac, is a Japanese manga and anime series created by Masami Kurumada in 1986. The series quickly gained popularity in the 1980s and 1990s, not only in Japan, but around the world, especially in Latin America and Europe. The series tells the story of young warriors known as “Knights” who fight to protect the Greek goddess Athena and save the world.

The story of Saint Seiya begins centuries ago, when the goddess Athena appeared on Earth to protect humanity. To help her in her mission, she chose a group of young warriors, the Knights, to become her protectors. Each of these Knights is associated with a constellation of the zodiac and has unique powers based on that constellation. The Knights are organized into several ranks, ranging from the lowest to the highest: Bronze, Silver and Gold.

The main story of Saint Seiya follows five Bronze Knights: Seiya of Pegasus, Shiryu of the Dragon, Hyoga of the Swan, Shun of Andromeda and Ikki of the Phoenix. Together, they fight against the forces of evil that threaten world peace and protect Athena from the enemies who seek to destroy her.

The original Saint Seiya manga series is composed of 28 volumes, while the anime is composed of 114 episodes, followed by several movies and OVA (Original Video Animation). Since its creation, Saint Seiya has inspired many derivative products, such as video games, figurines, playing cards, clothing, collectibles, etc.

In addition to its captivating plot and memorable characters, Saint Seiya is also known for its high quality animation and unique visual style. The characters are drawn in a distinctive style with elaborate and detailed armors that represent their respective constellations. The music in the series is also very popular with fans, especially the dynamic and emotional fight music that accompanies the action scenes.

One of the most striking features of Saint Seiya is the philosophy behind the story. The series explores themes such as courage, loyalty, friendship, sacrifice and personal responsibility. The Bronze Knights are often tested physically and emotionally, and their ability to overcome these trials is often tied to their inner strength and determination.

The different seasons of Saint Seya

Saint Seiya is a series that has had several seasons and adaptations over the years. Here is an overview of the different seasons of Saint Seiya :

  1. Saint Seiya (1986-1989): the first season of the animated series, also known as The Knights of the Zodiac, follows the adventures of Seiya of Pegasus and his Bronze Knight friends.
  2. Saint Seiya: The Hades Chapter (2002-2008): also known as Saint Seiya: Meiō Hades Jūnikyū Hen, this adaptation follows the adventures of the Knights of Bronze as they fight to protect Athena against the forces of the god of the underworld, Hades.
  3. Saint Seiya: The Lost Canvas (2009-2011): this adaptation tells the story of the previous holy war against Hades, focusing on the characters of Tenma of Pegasus and Alone.
  4. Saint Seiya Omega (2012-2014): this season follows a new generation of Bronze Knights as they fight to protect Athena from the new threats she faces.
  5. Saint Seiya: Soul of Gold (2015): this adaptation follows the Golden Knights as they awaken in the world of the dead and fight to protect the god Odin.
  6. Saint Seiya: Saintia Sho (2018-2019): this adaptation follows the adventures of the Saintias, female warriors who protect Athena alongside the Knights.

There are also several film adaptations, OVA (Original Video Animation) and spin-off series that explore different aspects of the Saint Seiya universe


Scroll to Top